• Abbey College, Abbey Road, Hollow Lane, Ramsey Cambridgeshire PE26 1DG

PE Curriculum

Key Stage 3

The Key Stage 3 curriculum consists of the units outlined below. These cover a range of assessments throughout the year that focus on key skills in addition to subject knowledge. Pupils will develop their strengths in these identified key areas as they progress through years 7 and 8.


All assessments are completed in practical tasks in order to build up vital skills required for success at GCSE level. Pupils are made aware of what they are being assessed on, and how, early on in the unit. These assessments are based on five areas for Assessment Objectives (AO’s) which have been devised from the GCSE specifications, a copy of which can be found at the front of your child’s planner.

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4, PE is examined by 2 separate courses - OCR GCSE PE and OCR Cambridge National Sports Studies. Across the key stage, Students study a range of practical and theory topics. They are assessed on theoretical knowledge in the end of year 11 exam. The practical controlled assessment is on-going and will take place at the end of each practical activity.

Key Stage 5

At Key Stage Five we offer the BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Sport which consists of 4 units, 2 examined units on Anatomy and Physiology and Fitness Training and two internally assessed units from a wide range of practical and coursework based units.

View the embedded image gallery online at:

pdfPE KS3 Curriculum 2019-2020

 pdfPE Curriculum Update


GCSE PE Knowledge Organisers


 pdfBTEC Sports Unit Knowledge Organiser